Home > Transport In Delhi > Rail Transport In Delhi

Rail Transport in Delhi

Our capital city is well connected to all minor and major railheads with modern and perfectly organized network of Indian Railway. Delhi carries 4 major railheads at Old Delhi, New Delhi, Nizamuddin and Anand Vihar.

Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station

This station is one among the 5 major railheads in Delhi, from where several trains originate. The station that connects to all main cities was developed to decrease the crowd at New Delhi Railway Station. This station is very close to 2 significant arteries of Delhi, Sarai Kale Khan Inter State Bus Terminal (ISBT) and Mathura Road and Ring Road. Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station (with station code NZM) is under the control of Northern Railway zone, Indian Railways.


Delhi Hazrat Nizamuddin/HNZM

Sarai Kale Khan, Nizamuddin, Delhi NCT

Elevation: 210 m

Railway Zone: NR/Northern

New Delhi Railway Station

New Delhi Railway Station, with station code NDLS is located between Paharganj and Ajmeri Gate, is the major railway station in capital city. This is one among the largest and second busiest railway station in India. This station manages about 300 trains per day on 16 platforms and approximately 360,000 passengers commuting every day. This station carries the record for world’s largest route interlocking system. New Delhi Railway Station starts from northern portion of Connaught Place about 2 km in central Delhi. Majority of southbound and east bound trains starts from this station. Also, few important trains towards other destination also cross or start from this station.


New Delhi/NDLS

Paharganj/ Ajmeri Gate, Near New Delhi Metro Station, Delhi NCT

Elevation: 215 m

Railway Zone: NR/Northern

Old Delhi Railway Station

Also known as Delhi Junction (with station code DLI) carries the credit of being the oldest railway station in Delhi city with a Junction station. This station was constructed besides Chandni Chowk in the year 1864, where once trains from Calcutta and Howrah started connecting till Delhi. The station building was built by British Indian Government in red-color fort style and was inaugurated on 1903. This was a significant railway station in Delhi and approximately 60 years heralded by New Delhi Railway station. Delhi Metro’s underground station of Chandni Chowk is situated besides this railway station.


Old Delhi Junction/DLI

Jn Pt PNP, GZB, AWR, NDLS, Shyama Prasad Mukherji Marg, Near Chandni Chowk Metro Station, Delhi NCT

Elevation: 219 m

Railway Zone: NR/Northern

Other Railway Stations in Delhi

Anand Vihar Terminal

This station with station code ANVT is the large railhead in Anand Vihar vicinity of Delhi. The station is administratively managed by Delhi Division of Northern Railway zone of our Indian Railways. Anand Vihar Terminal was officially opened on 19th December 2009 by Sheila Dikshit, Chief minister of Delhi and Mamata Banerjee, the then Union Railway minister. This station is one among the largest railheads widespread on 42 hectares and will initiate all the east bound trains originating from Delhi once the second phase starts working.


Delhi Anand Vihar Terminal/ANVT

Near Anand Vihar ISBT, Opposite Anand Vihar Metro Station, Ghazipur Road, Delhi NCT

Elevation: 208 m

Railway Zone: NR/Northern

Sarai Rohilla Railway Station

Officially referred as Delhi Sarai Rohilla railway station (station code DEE) is located approximately 4 km distance from Old Delhi railway station in Delhi. This station is controlled by Delhi Division of our Northern Railway zone. Most of the trains between Delhi and Rajasthan, Punjab, Gujarat and Haryana halt at this railhead. Above 20 trains including AC trains and Duronto trains starts from this station.

This station is maintained by North Western Railways. Train connections in this station include:

Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Bikaner Mail

Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Jaisalmer Express

Avadh Assam Express

Chetak Express

Bikaner-Delhi Sarai Rohilla Link Express

Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Rewari Express

Location: The station is situated in the District of North Delhi at a distance of 5 kilometer west of New Delhi Railway Station.

Delhi Cantt Railway Station

Delhi Cantonment (well known as Delhi Cantt) is one among the three constitutional towns which make up the National Capital Territory of our capital city. As par 2001 Census, its population was 124,452. This area is controlled by Delhi Cantonment Board, together with constitutional bodies, New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) and Delhi Municipal Corporation (DMC).

Delhi Cantonment Railway Station (station code DEC) is situated within this Cantonment from where trains travel to several other parts of India. All trains between Delhi and Gujarat or Rajasthan halt at this station.

Sarojini Nagar Railway Station

This station (with station code SOJ) is one among the significant stations in south Delhi connecting other parts of Delhi with Ring Railway system. Any person can effortlessly reach Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station, New Delhi Railway Station, Delhi Cantt and Lajpat Nagar. Though EMU service will be available only during peak office working hours, it still remains to be a comfortable means of transportation.

Tuglakabad Railway Station

This station (with station code TKD) is situated at Delhi NCT. There are about 32 trains that run via Tuglakabad.

Tilak Bridge Railway Station

This station is situated in Delhi and controlled by Northern Railways. The nearby stations are Shivaji Bridge and Pragati Maidan. Nearest major railhead is New Delhi Railway Station and closest airport is Indira Gandhi International Airport. There are 4 Express trains that halt at this railway station.

Station Name: TILAK BRIDGE Railway Station

Station Code: TKJ

Junction Name: DELHI


State Name: Delhi

District Name: Delhi

Mandal Name: Delhi

Okhla Railway Station

This railway station in Delhi is controlled by Northern Railways. Nearby stations are Hazrat Nizamuddin and Lajpat Nagar. Nearest major railhead is New Delhi Railway station and closest airport is Indira Gandhi International Airport. There are 9 Express Trains that halts at this station.

Station Name: OKHLA Railway Station

Station Code: OKA

Junction Name: DELHI


State Name: Delhi

District Name: Delhi

Mandal Name: Delhi

Ring Railway in Delhi

This is a circular rail network designed in our capital city running parallel to Ring Road, inaugurated at the time of 1982 Asian Games. This system isn’t successful among people on the basis of public transport. The reasons for this system failure are due to deficient connectivity and less population in destination areas. This network is currently employed as freight corridor and very limited passenger trains commute at the time of peak working hours.


Do you think Delhi is the most developing Capital in the world?