The City of Delhi is divided into a total of 6 districts all of which have been placed under the judiciary of a separate court. The main aim and motto of these courts have been to constantly provide the seekers of legal aid with timely and fair legal support. Civil, Family as well as criminal issues are resolved in these courts. The Legislature, the Supreme Court of India and the Delhi High Court are all supported by these courts.

The Various District Courts of Delhi are-

  • Kakarduma Court Complex
  • Tis Hazari Courts Complex
  • Patiala House Court Complex
  • Dwarka Courts Complex
  • Rohini Court Complex
  • Saket Court Complex

Supreme Court of India

On 26th January 1950, when the nation adopted its constitution the Supreme Court of India came into existence at the Tilak Marg in New Delhi.  Earlier, it operated from within the complex of the Parliament before it moved to its present building complex. The Dome is 27.6 metre high and is supported by ‘colonnaded’ veranda. The Front office presents a visitor’s pass which one can use to visit the place.

Delhi High Court

On 21st March in 1919, earlier, the High Court of Lahore had the power of jurisdiction over Punjab and Delhi. When the partition of India came into effect the jurisdiction was cancelled.

On 15th August in 1947, a bill was passed which established the Punjab High Court which practiced its jurisdiction over the east Punjab. The India Order was enacted which established that all the previous acts of India shall be laws under the High Court of East Punjab.

"Peterhoff" was a building in Shimla from where the High Court of east Punjab started operating. In 1981, the building was burnt down.

In 1955, the Punjab Government’s Secretariat was shifted to Chandigarh. Chandigarh was also made to house the High Court of Punjab. A Circuit Bench was established in the Punjab High Court at Chandigarh which enabled it to enact its jurisdiction over Delhi as well.

Considering the political and social importance of Delhi and also taking into consideration the growing population, the Parliament of India in 1966, enacted the act of Delhi High Court, following which a high court was established effective from 31 October 1966 at Delhi.

Initially, Himachal Pradesh also fell into the jurisdiction of the Delhi High Court which was operated through a particular special bench called the Himachal Bench which operated through a building which was called “Ravenswood”. The jurisdiction continued for as late as 1970s over Himachal Pradesh. This ended when the Parliament passed the ‘State of Himachal Pradesh Act’ in 1970 post which the state of Himachal Pradesh was established.

The Judgments Information System

The Judgment’s system of information consists of Supreme Court of India’s Judgments and observations along with the judgements and observations of several High Courts. In 1950, the Supreme Court Records all the judgements passed by the Supreme Court since its inception. These can be read in the journals of the SCR. Head notes are also available for the judgements passed before 1933. After 1994, all the judgments were recorded sans the head notes.



Do you think Delhi is the most developing Capital in the world?